Skydiver, Life Liver!

by

Laura Garcia CannonOne of my favorite quotes is from Abraham Lincoln: “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

That quote couldn’t ring any truer than one of our recent guests on the Bay Area Today at Ten. Eighty year old Anne Jensen from Pleasanton was invited to our studio to talk about what she did to celebrate her 80th. This grandmother didn’t just sit back to reflect on her years with cake and ice cream she decided to experience something a little sweeter and much more adventurous… she jumped out of an airplane!!

Jensen said it’s something she had always wanted to do and when she heard former President George Bush made a skydiving jump to celebrate his birthday she said, “If he did it, why can’t I?” So Jensen suited up, got her training and strapped on the

Skydiving Video
Watch Video

gear to do her first tandem jump. She was all smiles and didn’t seem to have a care in the world, or any nerves to back her down. Her family cheered her on from below yelling, “You’re crazy Grandma!!” Crazy, maybe, but when I met Jensen in person, I have to say her enthusiasm for life was infectious. She possessed a spirit about living that is rarely found. Instead of a “woe is me, I’m getting old attitude” she’s a real barn burner! She attributes her longevity to a go get ’em attitude saying, “when life hands you a problem, deal with it, and get on with it!”

I try to live my life without regrets, and Anne Jensen reminded me of the fact that every day is a gift, go out there and live it to the fullest. I jumped out of a plane myself when I was about 22. While I almost gave my parents a heart attack, I have to say for me, it was a thrill of a lifetime. With skydiving checked off my list of things to do, I’ll have to keep coming up with ways to add life in my years while I still have them. Thanks for the lead Anne Jensen, I can’t wait to see what you’ll do to celebrate 81!

Laura Garcia-Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

