Cowboy, Oh Boy – I Feel Like an Idiot

by

Bob RedellSo the nice people at the Rowell Ranch Rodeo invited me to participate in their celebrity penning event. That’s where 3 people on horses try to corral a cow into a pen. 24 teams – 3 per team: 2 who know what they are doing – and an “invitee” who in my case did not. I don’t know why but I actually thought this was going to be easy.

It was me, Mike (middle aged cowboy who seemed to really care about winning) and Okie (ol’ timer who was so carefree I think they named the gum after him.) I can’t remember my horse’s name. (Shame does that to you.) But I do remember what Mr. Ed’s evil twin did to me once we got out there in front of the crowd. I’d love to show you but my wife forgot to take pictures because she was laughing so hard. All I remember is that the power steering went out, the accelerator was stuck in “whatever” and I had no brakes.

I particulary enjoyed it when Bruiser crushed my legs up against the railing. But that was nowhere near as much fun as when he tried some bucking maneuver. It wasn’t like I actually wanted to keep that hat that was on my head. He then trotted over to the stands where some little girl told me that “The horse could tell I was nervous.” Nervous? No. Try humilated. The horse did finally come to a stop. Some dude in the crowd yelled out: “Don’t do a thing! Keep him there.” Good idea. Why didn’t I think of that? Here’s the shocker to all of this: My team didn’t do so well. I felt bad for Mike. (Sorry dude.)

In all seriousness, I had a lot of fun and have no ill will towards Hopalong. I would’ve done the same thing if I had 200 pounds of waste of humanity on my back.

By the way, I don’t want you to think I totally stink at rodeo. Here’s a picture of me bull riding. You’ll be proud to know that I stayed on not just for one – but yes, two whole seconds!

Bob Redell
NBC11 Reporter

Leave a Reply

