4th of July Fireworks (and fear)

by

Laura Garcia CannonBrent and I get to stay up and broadcast much later than our usual 5am start time when we get out of the box and out in the public this week for the 4th of July Fireworks Show at San Jose’’s America Festival for Independence. It’’s always a lot of fun. This will be our fourth year hosting the kickoff to the fireworks show live at 9pm. It’s great because it will give you the chance to catch a little behind the scenes action of what a live broadcast looks like while getting a front row seat to the event! (It will also be broadcast at 9:00pm on NBC11 if you want to watch from the comfort of your home.)

Sitting directly under the fireworks is incredible. It makes me feel like a little kid again when you’re terrified the fireworks are actually going to land on you. America Festival for IndependenceWhy is that such a childhood fear? I guess seeing flaming sparks flying down out of the night sky after thunderous explosion-like sounds makes for a bit of fear… it’’s always a bit alarming with all the oohs and ahhs from the crowd too. You’’re thinking, ok I should be loving this, but holy cow I’’m going to catch on fire!!! I would just hold my Mom’’s hand a little tighter and hope the event was over soon and we in fact would have more than a shell of a burned out car to drive home in. I guess it was all those warnings to not play with fire that put the fear in me. I’’ll try not to show that fear on the air on Tuesday night, but because you just read this, you’’ll know what to look for. A big indicator will be if I’m holding Brent’’s hand at the end of the show with the look of a deer in the headlights in my eye.

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

