Ready For Some Football?

by

Brent CannonAre you ready for some football? I am in the mood for my favorite sport. Every year about this time I feel the anticipation building. I like just about all football, but I really love college football.

A few days ago, I interviewed former 49er running back Roger Craig and it really brought back memories and got me excited about a new season. Craig played at Nebraska at the same time I was at Colorado. During our interview, I joked with him about the time he was tackled and slid out of bounds. I was warming the bench and his helmet hit my shin. It hurt like heck. We had a good Brent interviews Roger Craiglaugh over that, but it sure caused the memories to come flooding back. I can remember it so well. A cold October afternoon in Boulder. We were under new head coach Bill McCartney. We were a vast underdog, even though the game was at home for us. Nebraska was loaded with talent. The media guide hyped players like Mike Rozier, Turner Gill, Irving Fryar, and perhaps one of the most decorated offensive lineman in college football history, Dave Remington. There was little mention of guys like Roger Craig and Tom Rathman – both of whom went on to big things with the 49ers in the NFL. That’s how loaded Nebraska was with talent. We were down 20 to 14 in the 3rd quarter. We had the ball, and if we scored we would take the lead against the dreaded “Big Red Machine.” Instead, we threw an interception. The “Huskers” turned it into a TD. They kicked off, and we fumbled. They recovered and got another quick score. Suddenly, the game was out of hand and Nebraska went on to win 40 to 14.

I can’t wait for all the great match-ups coming this season, including Cal vs USC, Michigan vs Ohio St. Notre Dame has a lot of good games including match-ups with Michigan, USC and Stanford. So much football – so little time! Bring out the brauts and fire up the grill.

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

