I’m Getting Old

by

Scott McGrewJust got back from my 20th high school reunion in the Chicago area. A bit of trivia: Ferris Buehler “went” to my high school in the sense that they shot Ferris Buehler’s Day Off in the hallways when I was a senior. It’s also the (fictional) high school in Breakfast Club. For what it’s worth.

Anyway, I have decided I have been very lucky in the hair department. Time has not been kind to my football buddies, who are all sorting that “monk” look. I also ran into a teammate who is now working at McDonald’s. This would sound like a bit of a sad career move, but it’s not. McDonald’s (McDonald’s’s ?) headquarters is near my hometown and the fellow works there as the guy in charge of the toy in the Happy Meal. How strange a job is that?

Other than my bald schoolmates, I can point to other evidence I am getting old: I was in Target the other day and the young clerk asked me if I was “that guy on TV.” I get that a couple times a day, and responded yes indeed, I was the guy.

“I’ve been watching you since I was a little kid,” he said.

Yikes.

Lastly, I went to Parent’s Night at my son’s middle school. That I have a middle schooler is probably evidence enough that I’m middle aged, but it wasn’t until I met some of his teachers that I really felt it. I was expecting OLD teachers. You know, like Mr. Hand from Fast Times at Ridgemont High. Not to be — I seem to be older than most of them. That’s disconcerting. You want teachers (and surgeons and airline pilots) to be older than you are. It’s just the rule.

You’re welcome to comment on this posting. Use big type as my eyes aren’t what they used to be.

FEEDBACK: Post A Comment

Scott McGrew
NBC11 Business & Tech Reporter

2 Responses to “I’m Getting Old”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Hi Scott,

    I can so relate… I’m in the same boat. Two kids, one in high school and one in middle school. I was in my first year in the Army when Ferris Bueller came out (22 years old.) I work at my daughter’s high school and *all* the kids call me “Mr. Pruden.” Ugh.

    Love your broadcasts… and I *never* miss your banter with Bianna. šŸ˜‰

    smiles,
    Jamie

  2. Charlotte Says:

    If you want to look younger, you can stand next to me. I am 70 and can still dance an Irish jig. If you remain healthy and mentally alert, old age can be the best time of your life. Young people try to act the way that they believe will make other people like them more. Old people discover that we are not very good at acting and let the real us show. Suddenly, we find that more people like us real than ever did when we tried to act.

    Enjoy every age you reach and get to the final one with no regrets.

    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

