Traditions Brought ‘To Light’

by

Laura Garcia Cannon

I can’t believe the holidays are here. I always heard my parents talk about years flying by when I was a kid, but now as an adult I’m living it!! Since being married, I always try to be conscientious of incorporating my husband’s family traditions into mine. But it makes for either a lot of food, or a really bright tree. Let me explain. I come from a family where the lights on the tree where all white, glistening in beauty with rich ribbon and ornate ornaments. It was a no brainer for me to go to the store when we got married and pick out several strands of white lights for our tree, mantle and balcony. Brent usually puts the lights on ( I’m too short ) and when he opened the bag of lights I bought he said, “All white?” I answered gleefully, not even thinking of a possible problem, “Yes!” He put them on, along with the ornaments and sat back to admire his work. He then said, “You know, we always had colored lights at my house.” He wasn’t mad, just mentioning what his family did.

So, every year the same lights get dragged out of storage for decorating and every year I hear the slight mention, “We always had colored lights.” Well after 10 years of the same lights, this year when Brent plugged them in, fffftzzz! They blew out! Brent decided to go to the store to get new lights. I thought — he’s definitely getting colored lights this year, I didn’t ask, didn’t fuss, what’s the big deal I thought? It’s his turn for colored lights. Little to my surprise, when I got home later that day Brent had put up some sort of weird switch on our tree. He proudly said, hey take a look at this! He turns a switch – all white lights!! He says,”This one is for you”. Then turns the switch again and all colored lights come on! He says, “This one is for me!” and then, yet one more switch flip and both colored and white lights illuminate our living room tree! He says, “This one is for us!” I know, I know, some of you reading this will think it’s totally cheesy, but I thought it was really sweet and he’ll probably hate me for sharing it, but it’s a good example of how two people, with different backgrounds, and traditions, can incorporate both into the holiday cheer. I guess it brought ‘to light’ – pun intended, how important everyone’s traditions are!

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

