Daylight Saving

by

Brent Cannon

Since so many people are weighing in on the new daylight saving time – I might as well add my perspective to the mix. As a morning show person – daylight saving hurts. My eyes are burning, my body aches, and I’m in a mental fog, all because I get a lot less sleep. (or at least that’s what I am using as my excuse these days). I wasn’t always this way. As a kid I loved daylight saving time. It was a signal that spring had sprung. Summer was right around the corner. There was more time to play outside after school. I remember thinking, “why don’t we do this all the time?” Well, times have changed. I now wake up in the middle of the night to come to work. Which means I go to bed before many people even begin having dinner. During the winter months it gets dark around 4:30 or 5:00, which is perfect. They say your body’s clock is influenced by sunlight. So, when it’s dark, it makes sense to my body, and I begin getting tired and ready for bed. Since becoming a morning anchor nearly ten years ago, I began dreading the whole “spring forward” thing. I actually began embracing “fall back” and the beginning of the winter season. But now, things are even worse. We fall back later, and we spring forward sooner. I have lost several weeks per year of good sleeping days. But I guess daylight saving still signals the promise of sunny days and warmer weather. On the weekends, it’s light long enough for me to drive to the high country and still have plenty of light for evening fly-fishing. I can be on the river as late as 9:00 in the evening. So, I give something up, but I gain something else. And there is always afternoon naptime.

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

