Favorite Notes

by

Scott McGrew

I keep little notes around my desk about stuff that interests me. I used to put them on the back of my business cards (because I can make them into little piles) but got the official word from the adminisphere to knock it off – it turns out I’m supposed to give my business cards to other people, not use them for notes. So now I use scraps of paper.

What you might find in my notes:

This is the recent lunar eclipse caught by photographers and posted to Flickr. Great stuff.

Will someone please please please buy me one of these? Thanks.

Interesting fact: The word armada is simply Spanish for fleet. Spanish Armada sounds pretty threatening. Spanish fleet lacks a certain something, doesn’t it?

One of my favorite blogs, Defective Yeti, has a list of cliches and their suggested replacements. Such as instead of saying “it’s a win-win situation”, you can say “everyone gets ice cream!”

This was one of my favorite toys from childhood.

Stuff that I make every effort to attend each year ’cause they’re sooo cool:

  • The Indianapolis 500. There is no single sporting event in the world that is so exciting or so big.
  • The Crucible’s Fire Arts Festival in Oakland. Note the website talks about the 2006 event. This year’s event is July 11-14.
  • San Francisco’s Chinese New Year’s Parade (you just missed that one)
  • The Reno Air Races in the fall.

If you remember the movie WarGames, you may find this game, DefCon, highly addictive (free demo).

I have these computer speakers and really recommend them.

Finally, don’t miss the Worst. Dad. Ever.

Scott McGrew
NBC11 Business & Tech Reporter

Leave a Reply

