Morning Shift Time Rift

by

Mike Inouye

“Well, I get out early and at least there’s no traffic when I drive in.”

That’s the standard answer I give when people react to the news that I’m on my way to the station, in suit and tie, at 4am.

Another cool thing about working in the news is the fact that we’re some of the first to know the latest developments from around the world. For the morning news it means we’re chasing down everything that happened overnight so that we can update you as you start your day. The irony comes when dealing with pop culture.

I get up early, I go to sleep early. Basically, I do everything about 4 hours earlier than “normal.” This rules out primetime television. In fact, the “NBC11 News: The Bay Area at 6” is the start to my day’s end.

Thanks to Digital Video Recorder (DVR) technology I am able to record shows and watch them the next day but I’m still woefully out of the loop when talking to friends who saw things when they aired. You may not think that’s such a big deal but, you try to avoid hearing the results of the previous night’s reality tv show until you can get home to watch it the next day.

Try not to hear about which Biggest Loser lost least before you get home.

Layoff the news of which Apprentice was fired until you can review the show later.

Let’s face it, even though it’s on another network I even got sucked into the whole Sanjaya thing as well. (I didn’t see the show but I knew what happened before we hit the air the following morning.)

So, I go to sleep early, I get up early, I go to work early and I hear all the latest news first. BUT… I find out about everything else last.

Well, I get out early and at least there’s no traffic when I drive in.

…plus I love my job, and the people I work with are a whole lotta fun! Our morning crew is WAY better than any reality show on television. We ARE television and sometimes, that’s just plain unreal.

Mike Inouye
NBC11 Traffic Anchor

Leave a Reply

