Pet Peeve

by

Brent Cannon

My latest pet peeve – personal communication devices in the gym. Cell phones, Blackberrys, etc. I go to the gym about four times a week. I have a good routine, designed so I can get in and out in about an hour. I do 30 minutes of cardio – and then about 30 minutes of weights. But lately the whole thing is getting messed up by people who sit on a machine and just talk or text. They are not lifting at all. The only work out they get is to their thumbs. I can finish my entire routine – and some guy on the phone has not moved from one bench. They treat ‘em as a chair. Like it’s a Lazy Boy or something. And nobody else can get anything done. I even politely – very politely – asked one guy if I could work in with him. Not kick him off the bench – just work in with him. He told me he had a few more reps – then kept talking on the phone!

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

One Response to “Pet Peeve”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    This is so true! I work out at my gym in Gilroy and I have seen people modify their cardio so they can talk on the phone. I don’t see too many people talk or txt while doing weights, but do hear phones ringing fairly constantly. Is this a power play for people? Does this make people feel important that THEY NEED to communicate and can’t go without for an hour? I go to the gym to unwind, work out my body and yes, relax, but I can do without hearing of other’s plans for tonight or how their cat let out yet another hairball on the expensive Persian rug. Give us a break, leave the phones in your locker (on silent!) or in your car. Unless you save lives as a profession, it can wait for 60 minutes…PLEEEZE!!

Leave a Reply

