Class Act

by

Brent Cannon

I recently interviewed Drew Barrymore about her latest film “Lucky You.” I wanted to write about it because she has to be one of the most down to earth big stars I have talked with.

It was a satellite interview, and before we got going she took a drink of what appeared to be an iced mocha or Frappuccino from Starbucks. So, I kidded her about it. You never know how a star will react to something like that. But she just laughed and said “Oh, you saw that?” I told her I was jealous because I had not had a Starbucks lately. She said she is addicted to caffeine. I said I understood, being a morning anchor.

We talked about the film. She sings in it – and said she was scared to death. Again – not something many stars will admit. In her words “I felt like throwing up every day.”

I then mentioned how she recently made the cover of People magazine’s most beautiful people in the world. Many stars get annoyed when you talk about such things. Or they become very braggadocios. Not Drew. She said, “Are you kidding? With all the great looking people in the world they put me on the cover? I’m milking this for all I can get.”

We didn’t break any big stories, or get any big scoop on some deep dark secret. I just wanted to tell people that Drew Barrymore was one of the nicest and down to earth big time celebrities I’ve spoken with in a long time. Hats off to her.

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

