Making Mustakes

by

Scott McGrew

I got a call the other day from an upset viewer who was quite sure I was wrong with my report that the one day gasoline boycott wouldn’t lower gas prices. She was VERY upset. I kept trying to get a word in edgewise but she wouldn’t stop yelling long enough. I wasn’t going to defend myself — if I’m telling the truth, I don’t need to defend myself. I was actually trying to politely suggest to her she email my bosses to complain about me; that complaining to me wouldn’t really accomplish what she was trying to do. Though I’m not quite sure what it was she was trying to do. I understand her angst over high gas prices, but angst doesn’t change the economics of fungible commodities

Do you think it’s strange I would want someone to complain to my boss? I think it’s just the right thing to do – a viewer’s complaint either had merit, or it doesn’t. If it doesn’t, then my boss will ignore it. If it does, it needs to be corrected.

I do make mistakes. Recently I voiced a story about a company called Planktos which plans to spread iron powder into the ocean in order to stop global warming. (If you’d like to see it, you can subscribe to our TechNow podcast and watch it either through iTunes or your video iPod.) There’s a mistake in the script, however. Can you spot it? (we write tv scripts in all capitals)

IN ONE MONTH.. THE WEATHER BIRD TWO WILL ARRIVE ON STATION.. AND START SEEDING A 50-BY 50-SQUARE MILE PATCH OF THE SEA.

..AND SCIENTISTS ON BOARD WILL MEASURE THE EFFECT.

An attentive viewer wrote in to ask me if I had created a new dimension (50 by 50 is by definition a square measurement. adding “square mile” beyond that makes it a cube, I suppose) and said that I should at least have a basic understanding of how things are measured. I wrote back, sheepish, and explained it was extra embarrassing because I was tutoring my junior high aged son on geometry.

For my dumbest mistake, you can check out my NBC11.com biography.

Scott McGrew
NBC11 Business & Tech Reporter

Leave a Reply

