Morning Show Virtues

by

Brent Cannon

I just had a conversation with a co-worker about the virtues of doing the morning show and getting up at 2:45 in the morning. He asked if there were any virtues of such a shift. I quickly came up with several benefits. For one – I have not sat in bumper to bumper commute traffic in years. I have noticed more and more cars on the road in the wee hours – but I never plod along at ten miles per hour. In the rare event that I do get stuck in traffic, it drives me nuts. I have no idea how “normal” people do it day in and day out.

I have not paid full price for a movie in years. Laura and I always go to matinees. We pay less – never have to rush to beat the crowds – and don’t have to worry about if we’ll find seats together.

I eat my big meal early in the day – often times before noon. That means I have more time to burn it off before going to bed. It helps me stay slim – and believe me – at my age with my metabolism, that’s a big deal.

I get outside and see daylight almost every day. I can ride a bike, golf, take a walk, or work out every afternoon. I know lots of people who work 9 to 5 that don’t really see the sun all winter. They go to work when it’s dark – and come home when it’s dark. For me, that’s a bummer. I like getting outside.

I never have to wait for a machine at the gym. There are days it gets busy – but nothing compared to the evening hours after 9-5 work.

And finally, it is easier to run errands. I don’t have to use my lunch break to go to the post office – or spend my weekends getting a haircut. I do it in the afternoon – and have more of my weekend free of the “to do” list.

Still – there are many days when my alarm goes off before 3AM that I have to remind myself of this list.

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

