Let’s Make A Deal?

by

Laura Garcia Cannon

I just discovered why I keep everything but the kitchen sink in my purse. Blame it on Monty Hall! Remember him? Talk show host of Let’s Make A Deal. Well, a good friend of mine who is a little bed ridden right now said she’s been getting caught up on game shows. It made us think of some of the good ones from the past. Remember Match Game? I could even tell you where Brett Somers used to sit! Or what about Dick Clark and his $10,000 Pyramid? Geez, remember when $10,000 was actually a lot of money to win on a game show? Now, if they don’t give you at least a million dollars for singing a few lyrics of a song people turn the other way!

I remember watching all these game shows of the 70’s with my sister. We always loved the ending of Let’s Make A Deal where host Monty Hall would go through the audience asking for bizarre items in people’s purses and wallets. A dollar bill with a certain digit in the serial number. A driver’s license with three 4’s in it. But I also remember him asking for things like a nail file, chocolate bar and a hard boiled egg. I remember encouraging my mother to put an egg in her purse in case we ever ran into Monty Hall one day. She could win some money! She never took my advice. I guess the chances of Monty Hall just ‘appearing’ in the small town of Porterville where I grew up were probably next to none, but I thought she should be prepared for any occasion.

So, that’s when it just occurred to me… that’s what I must be doing in my everyday life now as an adult. Just being prepared for every situation! My brother picked up my purse to hand it to me the other day and said, “Whoa, what do you have in here? Rocks? Preparing for Let’s Make A Deal?” See, he remembers it too!! So, the next time you see me schlepping my handbag around that is unusually large for such a small woman you’ll know why. I’m just prepared, and go ahead and ask if I have that egg in there. I just might!

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

4 Responses to “Let’s Make A Deal?”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Yeah! Glad the blogs are back!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    will there be a blog about Shannon’s departure?

  3. Anonymous Says:

    yeah, where is shannon? what happened to her?

  4. John Peck Says:

    Shannon’s husband got into business school in Seattle – so sadly, she left us to keep her family all in one place….

Leave a Reply

