Reflections on Christmas Past

by

Brent Cannon

With Christmas coming soon I was thinking back on some of my more memorable Christmas gifts.

One of my earliest Christmas memories is of my first football uniform. I think I was too little to even know what a football uniform was, but I got one. I remember it was a Minnesota Viking’s jersey, pants and helmet. I didn’t even know who they were – but I remember it was in the days their defense was famous. I think they were called the “purple people eaters.”

Another year my Great Aunt sent me two hermit crabs. They were delivered to our house in Denver. The only problem is that the mailman came while we were in school and my parents were working, and there was a big blizzard. We got home and found the box in a snowdrift. The crabs were frozen. My Aunt had them send another set of crabs and I kept them in a little terrarium.

Then there was my green bike. I loved that bike. It was a metallic green three speed, Schwinn Spyder. Keep in mind, this was back in the day when bikes only had one speed, so to have a three speed was a big deal. Plus – it had a banana seat and sissy bar! Oh ya – and a racing slick back tire!

Another time I got a tape recorder, complete with a mic. This was way before the days of iPods – before the days of CD players – before the days of 8 track players – but just after the days of reel to reel players. I used to record my favorite songs off a transistor radio onto that player. Many people in my family think it was significant because I had a mic as a kid and grew up to be a reporter with a mic.

I also remember popcorn balls. Each year we would go to my grandparent’s house for Christmas Eve dinner and open some “preliminary” presents that night. An old family friend named Fanita always came – and each year made all the kids a bag of popcorn balls. It might seem kind of silly, but it made a memory. I remember those popcorn balls. There was lime, cherry and orange. I could go for a homemade popcorn ball right now. Hmmm.

Anyway, just a few of my many childhood memories of Christmas. Oh by the way, there are pictures of most of this stuff – but lucky for me they are hidden in the basement of my mom’s house in Denver – and hopefully will never hit the pages of NBC11.com!

Here’s hoping you make some great new Christmas memories of your own this year.

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

Leave a Reply

