Family Home For The Holidays

by

Craig Herrera

Don’t you love to have family over to your home for the holidays? For long periods of time? My mom and aunt are visiting from New Mexico and they have been with me for three weeks! Yes, three weeks and it will be four weeks total when they head back to the “Land of Enchantment” at the end of December. It’s funny to see the reaction I get from people when I mention my family is staying with me for four weeks. They tend to ask, “aren’t you sick of each other yet?” I can honestly say no. I am very close to my mom, aunts, uncles and cousins. I don’t know what the secret is, we just get along so well. We love to cook together, shop, go to holiday parties, holiday parades, explore local farmer’s markets and just put on some comfy clothes and sit at home with a good movie to watch. A nice cup of soup and hot cocoa to top that off, what could be better? I suppose a trip to the Bahamas would be nice, but I have to say, for me, nothing beats time with my family.

It may sound silly, but I’m at a point in my life where the gifts and presents don’t seem as important. My focus has shifted toward what’s really important… family and friends. Life is too short and I absorb every minute I have with the people that mean so much to me. It’s been a rough year for our family, we lost a very special uncle to cancer, we’ve had a lot of ups and downs, and as we close out 2007, we celebrate the good and accept the tough times and move on toward 2008 with open hearts. This holiday season my wish to you is this…I hope you have time to spend with loves ones, if it’s just a phone call to a loved one far away, or someone next door! Enjoy the holiday and make the most of each day in 2008! 🙂

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

