I Remember When…

by

Craig Herrera

I remember when I turned 10, the double digits, my first big birthday party… what a fun time. I remember when I turned 18, off to college, my first birthday away from home… oh what a scary feeling. I remember when I turned 21, yes, I remember, and yes it was so much fun! I remember when I turned 25, the quarter-century mark and I was invincible, at least in my own mind. I remember when I turned 30, and one of my joints made a loud popping sound when I bent my knees. I used to laugh at “older people” whose bones made loud noises when they bent over. And I remember when I turned 35, thinking I was supposed to have a mid-life crisis or something, but it didn’t feel that way. Well, I decided to treat myself to a haircut Thursday, January 10th… the day before my 36th birthday, and ah, well, just as as I was about to leave… “Oh my Craig” is what I heard from Christian, (the artist who makes my hair look good) which he said rather quietly. I said “what?” And he grabbed the scissors… (snip, snip), and it was a white hair! Yup, my first sign of gray! I laughed, and said… ok, now I’m ready to have my mid-life crisis. Sports car anyone? I’m kidding, besides, 36 is the new 25 right? I hope not, the 20s were great but the 30s are so much better. And besides, if 40 is the new 30, and I’m having so much fun now, then I’m happy to live it all over again! AND, I’ll have something to look forward to, right? And what’s more, Mike Inouye’s birthday is Saturday, January 12th. Nothing like sharing a laugh and a joke with a fellow Capricorn! Any more Caps out there sharing in a birthday this month? Let me know! Have a wonderful 2008!

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

2 Responses to “I Remember When…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    That is so funny! Have a gray… I mean great day!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I totally agree with you! I’ll be 36 next month, and I don’t like to think of myself getting old, only younger. I, too, remembered when I turned the big 10, 18, 21, 25, 30, 35…and now 36? Oh my. Life only gets better. We’re by no means old, right? Life’s just beginning.

Leave a Reply

