Two Cents on Incidents

by

Mike Inouye

I usually spend my days scouring the accident reports, online, by radio or phone.

Last week, however, when I was out of the office and sick at home I got an unexpected accident report. My wife (Mrs. Traffic) called me while on her way back from an appointment and calmly told me her car had been hit.

Quite honestly, I freaked out a little. Our son was playing on the floor nearby, Mrs. Traffic sounded fine but… what about the OTHER baby?! (We’re expecting another in the Spring.) Well, the impact was apparently at a low speed, exiting a parking lot and nature’s cushioning system combined with my wife’s car’s insulation kept everything in its place both in and around her. We’ve got a lot of repair work to do for the poor car’s tail end but that’s something we can deal with.

After I got thru my little panicky feeling, and Mrs. Traffic had returned home safely (she was only a few minutes away,) we reflected on the incident.

The person who hit my wife? Well, Mrs. Traffic had just gotten a hair cut, er, had just gotten her hair styled and the young lady who had blow dried her hair earlier was the one who blew into her car. A bit shaken I think, “impactor” ended up being glad about the circumstances. It was her first accident and she openly proclaimed that she had no idea what to do, what info to collect and likely in the process was giving out a lot of info she may not have meant to as well.

I wish all my drivers safe and incident-free travels but given the number of incidents in just the 10 minutes between my reports each morning, I thought it might be useful to point folks in the direction of some basic info should you ever need. The links below are to a couple of sources giving you an idea of info you’ll want to carry with you and info you’ll want to get should you ever find yourself in this situation. Not a bad idea to do a run-thru in your head since you’ll probably be a little less focused should it happen in real life.

From the California Department of Motor Vehicles, a page they call “Accidents! What To Do”

And from the National Safety Council, a more consolidated fact sheet entitled “What To Do When You Are Involved In A Car Crash”

No major drama to report but there are a number of things to sort out in the aftermath. You may never have to worry about this but like your spare tire, this is here just in case you should ever need it.

Mike Inouye
NBC11 Traffic Anchor

Leave a Reply

