No ZZZZ’s For Me

by

Bob Redell

In bed, I’m a pillow hog. But this week, I’ll be a pig. Specifically a guinea pig – with no sleep. As if I weren’t sleep deprived enough, my bosses would now like me to get rid of the zzzz’s altogether. 2:19 on Tuesday morning will be the last minute of shuteye I get for the next three days or so. When I wake up for work that morning at 2:20, I’ll be checking myself into a Stanford Sleep Disorders Clinic for a 2 night, 3 day stay. A doctor there will be monitoring me and testing my motor skills. We want to get a more scientific understanding as to how sleep deprivation affects the human body / mind / soul / psyche.

Most adults require 7 to 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep a night. But 40% of Americans get less than that. Me: I average about 4 or 5 hours which I realize is very unhealthy and will some day catch up with me, if it hasn’t already. (The upside is I’m home with my girls and get to work with a great crew on the morning shows.) I wouldn’t be surprised if many other workers in the Bay Area are sleep deprived. The commutes here are longer which means less time to sleep. Tune in to catch me live Wednesday and Thursday morning with a live special report Thursday night at 11. You can also find updates throughout the whole process on my Facing Fatigue blog. Sleep tight.

Bob Redell
NBC11 Reporter

Leave a Reply

