Dear John Letter

by

Mike Inouye

Oh, I’m traffic.

My last name is pronounced “ee-NOH-way”.

Yes, it’s probably channel 3 if you have cable.

Answers to some common assertions people make when we’re in conversation.

Does it get frustrating for me? Not really.

It’s often a social dilemma, though, when the “How’s the weather?” question comes up. Should I correct them on my place on the team, the way to pronounce my name or where they watch me for that matter?

The tables were turned recently when my family went to look at furniture at a well known furniture and housewares store. “John” was working there and, with a big warm smile on his face and a twinkle in his eye asked “How’s the traffic?”

He clearly watched our morning news, knew the team and recognized my face (even with the casual clothes, baseball cap and toddler in tow.)

Good eye, John.

We had a quick exchange and happily continued shopping. On our way out, John and I quickly chatted again and I accidentally called his store by the name of a competitor store. John caught that too.

Good ear, John. šŸ˜‰

Boy, was my face red (figuratively speaking).

John was cool about it and made a joke. He asked if this would make the Blog…

Good call, John.

If we meet and you accidentally call me the weather guy, you say you watch me on a different channel or you pronounce my name differently than I do, don’t sweat it. We all make mistakes but I know where your heart is.

Mike Inouye
NBC11 Traffic Anchor

Leave a Reply

