Ah… the Sunshine!

by

Craig Herrera

WOW! The sun, the warm and fresh air, the green hills, it all adds up to spring fever for me! I know we are still in February, and we will still see some rain, we can always use more rain, but the sun sure was nice over the weekend. I truly hope you had a wonderful weekend! I’d like to share mine with you.

I had the joy of meeting up with my very first boss and very dear friend, Beth Howard. Beth hired me as an intern at the United States Olympic Committee-Broadcasting Division, then hired me on full-time one-year later upon graduation. She now lives in New York, and was in Pebble Beach working, so we drove out to meet her for dinner Friday evening. What a joy she is in my life. She is one of those friends you just never lose touch with, and when you see each other, it’s as if no time has passed at all. But it has been three years since we last saw each other. That was the start of a great weekend.

Saturday, I celebrated the Chinese Lunar New Year with great friends and incredible food in Petaluma. I learned so much about why the year of the rat is so important. Why certain foods are celebrated at this time of year. And why certain customs should be shared with all.

Sunday, after services at my church in Los Gatos, I met with great friends who are all going to do the AIDS/Lifecycle ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles in June. We all signed up together, (NBC11 is a proud sponsor of the event) and we are all planning our fund-raising parties, training rides and trip to L.A. I can not wait! From here on out, I will blog more about my life, but if you don’t mind, I’d like to share my training with you along the way. And I’d like to hear about your exciting new journeys too!

I hope you had a great weekend and enjoyed the sunshine. I have to say, one of the
highlights of my life, come rain or shine… is my babies. Sunday evening, I ended my weekend with special time with my special girls, Sasha and Tess. I took a few photos of them to share with you. Sasha is a Lhasa Apso, about 10 years old, and Tess is a Rhodesian Ridgeback, about 12 years old. Both are rescues dogs… but really, they rescued me! And with the sun shining, a great weekend shared with special people in my life… life feels good, I always think about the loved ones in my life, and my special girls. Go out and give the special loves in your life a big hug or call someone and tell them hello!

I always appreciate the friends I have, even if it’s been three years since we saw
each other last, the special holidays – even if they are not part of my culture tradition, and simply the sunny days that inspire us to grab a camera and capture those special moments. I hope you have a great day!

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

