I Almost Didn’t Graduate Because Of The Lottery

by

Kris Sanchez

The $270-million Mega Millions jackpot got me thinking about how the lottery almost cost me way more than a buck.

Back in 1996, I was about to graduate from the University of Texas at Austin. My parents, brother, sister and grandparents were in town and ready to see me get my diploma. I played tour guide until the very last minute, so much so that we were late getting to the arena.

Still, on our way there, my dad had to make a pit stop.

“DAAAAAAAD, what are you doing?!?!?” I asked in an adolescent whine I wasn’t ready to give up yet.

“Sorry honey, I’ll be quick. I have to buy lottery tickets,” he said.

“What? You’ve got to be kidding me. LOTTERY TICKETS? We’re never going to make it!”

Dad said, “Honey, I wouldn’t, but it’s my turn to buy the lotto tickets for the office pool and if I don’t buy them and we win I’m dead.”

Dead sounded about right to me, as I freaked out in the back seat. But he was right, he was quick and we did make it. I got there just in time to hear the graduation song, walk across the stage, claim my diploma and snap a couple of pictures.

In fairness to my dad, I should mention that it took me five years to earn my two degrees, my sister was in college at the same time, and my brother was just a few years behind her. Come to think of it, it’s no wonder my dad played the lottery… even when it almost made us miss the moment he and my mom deserved to see as much as I did.

Kris Sanchez
NBC11 Anchor & Reporter

Leave a Reply

