Seuss on the Leuss

by

Mike Inouye

In celebration of Read Across America week I was asked to join Mrs. Nakano’s kindergarten class. They invited me to read my favorite Dr. Seuss book in the spirit of “Read Across America Week” which is observed right around Dr. Seuss’ birthday each year. Theodor Seuss Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss) was born on March 2 which was Sunday.

As soon as they set me free from here I zipped up the road (minding the speed laws) to Santa Rita Elementary School in Los Altos. I had a great time meeting the girls and boys, seeing their classroom, watching them work so well together and (perhaps the biggest treat of all) I got to sit in the TEACHER CHAIR!!! In addition to reading the book, we also talked about how very important reading is no matter what you do for work or play.

Thank you all so much for inviting me into your classroom and for sharing your time, and letting me read this story.

What book did I read?

“Green Eggs and Ham”

Truthfully, this was much more of a treat for me than for the kids. I love Dr. Seuss’ use of rhymescheme and how he creatively combines words, or simply makes them up, to get the message across to his audience.

In fact, his style inspired the beginning to one of my first blog entries. Click here for that blast from the past.

Oh, and by the way… check here for the recipe if you ever want to try them.

AH!

You can’t “not like them” unless you’ve tried them.

Mike-I-Am Inouye
NBC11 Traffic Anchor

One Response to “Seuss on the Leuss”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’m a teacher in the South Bay and applaud your community service for Read Across America Day! Children love it when guests come to their classrooms and read. I know you are very busy and wake up when the majority of us are still snug in our beds. To think you went to the school after work, is commendable. Keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

