Herrera’s Hooligans

by

Craig HerreraWho Are You Calling A Hooligan? You can call me a hooligan, and Paul, Jean, Gary, Julie and Mitch. We’re Herrera’s Hooligans and we’re riding our bicycles from San Francisco to Los Angeles June 1st through the 7th. We’re a team riding in AIDS/Lifecycle 2008 to help raise money for people living with HIV and AIDS. NBC11 is a proud sponsor of the event, and last year I was in the ride solo. But this year great friends and weekend ride buddies signed up and asked me to lead them. How could I say no, what an honor!

We each have to raise $2500.00 to ride. So, we recently had a fund-raising party in Almaden, South San Jose, and we had so much fun! Some our best friends and family were there to eat wood oven pizza, have a good time and support a great cause. I actually had so much fun surprising my team the day before our party. I came up with this fun logo for Herrera’s Hooligans, and I put the logo on t-shirts, tote bags and sun-visors for the team.

We only have about ten weeks before we hit the road with about 2500 other cyclists. It’s such an incredible experience! We usually have about 200 to 300 volunteers who help with everything from bicycle repairs, to preparing meals and setting up camp sites for us along the way. It is a physically and emotionally challenging week.
As a team, we are training and riding often. I will keep you posted on our progress and I will blog along the journey. I hope you can follow along and if you’d like to check out our web site or make a donation, here is the link to Herrera’s Hooligans:

http://www.aidslifecycle.org/149.

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

2 Responses to “Herrera’s Hooligans”

  1. Alison Says:

    Hooray for Herrera’s Hooligans! I am so proud of you all! Wish I could be there when you get to LA…

  2. Herrera’s Hooligans « The Breakfast Blog Says:

    […] from Almaden, to Los Gatos, through Monte Sereno, Saratoga, Cupertino and parts of San Jose with Herrera’s Hooligans and a few new friends.  We will all ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles in the AIDS/LifeCycle […]

Leave a Reply

