Play Ball!

by

Brent CannonAh, another baseball season is here. The Oakland A’s are celebrating 40 years in the Bay Area with a season full of planned events. The team’s home opener celebrations the other day brought back a lot of memories – and reminded me how a kid from Denver first became an Athletics fan.

The A’s came to Oakland in 1968 – but when I was a kid growing up in Denver, I remember talk of the team moving to the mile high city. Everybody was excited – sparking even more interest in a team half way across the country. At the time, Colorado did not have a major league team.Add to that the fact a distant relative once worked for the A’s ticket office, and sent me a pennant from 1972 World Championship team – and I was hooked. I still remember the names on it: Vida Blue – Rollie Fingers – Reggie Jackson – Jim “Catfish” Hunter. I still have the pennant too.

A few years ago, I was honored to meet Vida Blue at an East Bay fundraiser.These days I get excited about the $35 cheap seats they opened in the upper deck featuring all-you-can-eat refreshments! I wonder if there is a kid in Fremont becoming a fan on the news the A’s might move to his town. Play Ball!

Brent Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

P.S. – The Giants have their home opener Monday… make sure to join us at 11AM. I’ll be out at AT&T Park with a special broadcast covering all the excitement for fans this year… we’ll give you a behind the scenes look at what’s new this year at 11AM, Monday.

Leave a Reply

