Through A Child’s Eyes

by

Craig HerreraI was in Denver recently, for Easter, to visit with some of my family and goddaughter, Elli. She is now 20-months old and so beautiful. I know it’s been a few weeks since Easter, but I wanted to share my wonderful experience with you. I don’t have children of my own, and it was amazing to spend time with her and to see the world as a child again. I love to see the sparkle in her eye when she discovers something new. For instance, dying eggs, having an Easter egg hunt or going to the Children’s Museum.

She had so much fun coloring those eggs! At first, she held the eggs carefully, was slow to drop them in the cups of yellow, red, blue and some other colors of dye. Moments later, she was amazed to see the white egg was a new color. Wow, her eyes opened so big, she quickly grabbed another white egg to drop it into another cup of dye to give it a new color. Ah yes, the days of PAAS. It brought back so many memories for me and coloring eggs with my mom. What a wonderful time and to see it all over again through the eyes of little Elli was simply beautiful. Well, it all got a little messy and soon she was having so much fun her little hand was like a tie-dye shirt. It was so cute!

And later in the day we played at the Children’s Museum in Denver. Here too, it was just amazing to see her eyes open up at each exhibit, Her mind must have been filled with so many new ideas! We played for hours and by the end of the day I know I was ready for a nap.

Easter Sunday was so much fun as she looked for those eggs. My cousin and I always looked for eggs together while growing up in Northern New Mexico. Now we are watching her daughter, Elli, search for the eggs and Elli has the eye to spot those hidden eggs! She ran all over the yard looking for those colorful eggs. She was quick to place each egg in her basket and then run off to find another. Again, it was that look, that sparkle in her eye from the new explorations that just made me step back, watch her and smile because it was just such a wonderful experience to see old things new again, in her eyes! I love you Elli!

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

