Herrera’s Hooligans

by

Craig HerreraSaturday morning was so much fun, a 42-mile ride from Almaden, to Los Gatos, through Monte Sereno, Saratoga, Cupertino and parts of San Jose with Herrera’s Hooligans and a few new friends. We will all ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles in the AIDS/LifeCycle from June 1st through June 7th, 2008. The time to ride out over Skyline Boulevard and south is quickly approaching. Saturday, we rode some steep grades, saw beautiful places in the South Bay and stopped for coffee a few times along the way. We made new friends at some of our stops and it all reminded me of the spirit of the ride. We all took care of each other and made sure we each made it up over the hills. We made new friends and we were physically challenged on the ride. At one point, we were near the San Andreas fault and surrounded by such beauty all at the same time. I am so happy to report that each of our team members is doing very well in training and after Saturday’s ride, I think we are almost ready physically. I know emotionally that will be another chapter or another blog that I will write while I am on the ride. I will also send pictures back so you can track our progress and the stories we will share along the journey. We are all very excited and eager to begin this ride. A ride to help those living with HIV and AIDS. I was on the ride last year, and it was such an incredible experience I knew I had to do it again. I’ve stated this before, but I wish we did not have this ride and AIDS was no more, but until there is a cure, there will be a ride. So, on we go with our training and our journey. I’ll keep you posted and if you would like to see our team home page, click on the link below. Thanks and happy trails to you!

http://www.aidslifecycle.org/149

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

3 Responses to “Herrera’s Hooligans”

  1. Jean Rummelhoff Says:

    Craig & Herrera’s Hooligans: I am so honored to be a member of this team! The ride supports a great cause but the hidden benefit is making all the new friends along the way. Thanks to you for all your efforts on our team’s behalf and thank you to NBC 11 for their sponsor support. Jean R.

  2. Craig Says:

    Jean, it is an honor to ride with you and Gary, Mitch, Julie and Paul! Thank you for all you do and your support and dedication! We will have an incredible journey ahead of us! Go Hooligans!

  3. Crystal Says:

    Craig, you are getting ready to begin another incredible journey! I am so proud of you! I wish you and Paul and the rest of Herrera’s Hooligans the very best. You all will be in my thoughts! Wish I could meet you at the finish line, I’ll be there in spirit! Love you!

Leave a Reply

