Day 3: NBC11 Producer Breaks Down and Rents a Car, But a Green One

by

Michelle ToyDay 3

It’s gorgeous out and I didn’t have to go into work so I made plans to go to wine country. While I’m sure we could have figured out how to take public transportation, we decided that we’d have a lot more freedom if we rented a car.

I spent the morning online looking for hybrid car rentals. It seems like everyone in the Bay Area is driving a hybrid, so of course I want to know what the buzz is about. I found there are several companies that rent hybrids and settled on Avis. At $55/day, I hope it’s worth it.

Driving the Prius is strange at first. Those of you who drive a hybrid know it is so quiet when you are stopped, it’s almost like the car isn’t even on. We had a good time watching the car’s usage on the dashboard monitor. It tells how the car is being powered, by battery or motor and also monitors your gas mileage. By the time we hit Sonoma County, I was carsick from reading it.

We had a wonderful time cruising through Healdsburg and Sonoma and feeling very green. Trunk space was big enough to hold all of our reds, too!

We returned to San Francisco to fill up the tank before giving the car back to Avis. We had driven over 200 miles and used only 4 gallons of gas. At $4 a gallon, we were relieved at the Prius’ efficiency.

Prius rental – $55

Miles driven – 200+

Gallons of gas – 4

Price per gallon – $3.99

Number of Prius’ sold worldwide – 1 million

Check back in tomorrow. I’m back to work, but I’m so tired at the end of the day, I break down and call a cab. Tune in to NBC11 News Friday at 6pm for a special report on how the whole week went.

Michelle Toy

NBC11 Special Projects Producer

Leave a Reply

