Day 4: Gives Up Car, But Gives In and Calls a Cab

by

Michelle ToyDay 4

I’m working down at the ballpark today. NBC11 is now the official home of the San Francisco Giants, so I spend a lot of time working on stories and live productions from AT&T Park.

Since I stayed the night in San Francisco, I simply walked to the Glen Park BART station and then walked from the Embarcadero station to the ballpark. It was a great way to get a little exercise first thing in the morning, especially with my laptop on my back.

After I was done working at the ballpark, it was just another 1 ½ mile stroll along the Embarcadero back to our San Francisco bureau. I am wearing tennis shoes. Those who know me, know that I rarely wear tennis shoes. This week, I think people have been wondering why I look 3 inches shorter.

View Images

A producer from the NBC Network is in town and we need to meet to plan coverage for an upcoming event. She and her photographer pick me up in a Suburban (yikes!) and we run around town to various meetings. I fear the time spent in the Suburban will offset all of my good intentions, but when you are lugging a ton of camera equipment, walking is a very undesireable option.

We finish up tired and hungry around 9 p.m. We stagger into Epic Roasthouse on the Embarcadero for dinner. It’s 11 p.m. when we finally part ways. I am a mile from BART, a few blocks from Caltrain, and just steps from Muni. I‘ve been working for 17 hours now, and I’ve pretty much had it so I step into the street and hail a cab.

I’ll take the train back to San Jose tomorrow. That’s the thing about working all over the Bay Area without your car. You come to rely on a lot of friends for rides or for a place to lay your head.

BART from Glen Park to Embarcadero – $1.50
Walking from BART to AT&T Park to the SF Bureau – 3.91 miles
Chevy Suburban gas mileage – 15 mpg city
Taxi from Epic to Glen Park – $23 w/tip

Tomorrow is a completely car free day. Check in with the breakfast blog where I find out how to feel like a kid again. And don’t miss the special report on my entire week without a car Friday at 6 p.m. on NBC11 News.

Michelle Toy
NBC11 Special Projects Producer

Leave a Reply

