Day 5: NBC11 Producer Goes Green, Rides Bike

by

Michelle ToyDay 5

I was the kid who really struggled to learn how to ride a bike. It took me a little longer than most kids, but once those training wheels came off, I was hooked. My best friend and I would ride all over the neighborhood, down steep canyons, on gravel trails and in the middle of the street. We would coast down hills, streamers flying from our handlebars until our Mom’s made us come home for dinner.

Then came 6th grade when I ditched the bike for pom poms, Sweet Valley High novels, and the city bus. When I was in high school, my Dad won a bike in a raffle and gave it to me. It went from the raffle, to my parent’s garage, to my storage shed, until today.

I have to admit that I was a little nervous about riding my bike to work. Over the past 20 years, I have been on a bicycle maybe a dozen times. As I teetered with apprehension down my gravel driveway, I felt for a brief second, like I was 6 years old again. Once I hit the damp, dark pavement, I picked up speed and some confidence. I was on my way.

The morning air was cool and crisp. The wind rushed noisily in my ears. I glanced at my reflection in the window of a passing store and saw my face 20 years ago, nose and cheeks flushed a rosy pink. I remembered as I glanced over my shoulder how my best friend and I would yell “car!” as a warning to get out of the middle of the street. As I approached a row of low hanging trees, I reached up to flick the green spring leaves. Morning dew rained down on my face, and as I raced toward my final destination, I wondered what Mom was cooking for dinner.

Cost of old bicycle – free
Miles biked – 8
Feeling like a kid again – priceless

Tune in tonight at 6 p.m. to find out how the whole week went and how many carbon emissions were saved by taking just one car off the road.

Michelle Toy
NBC11 Special Projects Producer

Leave a Reply

