Suitable for Television?

by

Mike InouyeOh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!
– Sir Walter Scott, Marmion, Canto vi. Stanza 17.

Sometimes, to cover up an issue, you create another problem.

The issue: the end of my tie peeking out from the bottom of my jacket

The problem: viewer “Eric” and his fashion savvy

Please don’t take this the wrong way. I love getting e-mail from our friends who join us every morning and I especially love it when they help me come up with my blog topic as is the case this time.

Eric wrote to me one recent morning with something that had been bugging him. He noticed that I would sometimes button ALL of my buttons on my suit jacket. According to current fashion this is a “no-no”. There are a number of reasons floating around out there like
the lines of the jacket look better that way
, or it prevents bunching when you sit, or “just because”.

I figure, if Eric noticed there must be other people who think the same thing so I wanted to address this here and explain my actions…

Though I am well aware of the “Sometimes, Always, Never” rule for a three-button suit in real life, we have to adapt when under the unnatural circumstances of the news set. Interestingly, one contributor for GQ magazine has a specific entry regarding anchormen.

The main reason I do the bottom button while standing in front of my maps is to avoid distraction. You see, I often wear darker suits with bright ties to have a “pop” of color. When moving around at the screen, my tie sometimes peeks out from the bottom of my jacket and can end up being a distraction. I cover that up by buttoning the bottom button.

I was hoping I was getting away with this fashion faux pas for the greater good but in fact I was creating a much more irritating distraction for our fashion forward viewers.

Being an election year, I’ll be democratic about this situation and try following the rule for awhile and seeing if anyone finds the tie distracting anymore. The people have been heard.

Oh, and one last reason cited stems from King Edward VII who, due to his girth, was unable to fasten the bottom button and it became the style of the day…

I’m no royal but my wife is expecting and this sympathy weight may be helping shift me to favor the King Ed reason at this point.

Hoping I’m suit-ably dressed…

Mike Inouye
NBC11 Traffic Anchor

Leave a Reply

