LiveSTRONG!

by

Craig HerreraWhere and how do I begin this blog? I lost my uncle to esophageal cancer in January 2007, and I just found out one of my best friends, my first boss after graduation, has breast cancer. I know she will be well after a long fight, but I just wish all forms of cancer were gone! When I heard NBC11 would partner up with the Lance Armstrong Foundation for the Live Strong Challenge in San Jose, I said count me in!

On July 13th, 2008, I will join Lance Armstrong and many new friends for the inaugural San Jose LiveStrong Challenge. The Lance Armstrong website indicates that nearly 12 million Americans are living with cancer today. That is 12 million too many! Because I hope we find a cure and because we need to keep fighting the disease that does not discriminate, I will ride my bike and raise money for this cause.

I am looking for 10 people to be part of my team… Craig Herrera’s Team Eleven. It will be difficult to select 10 members but if you would like to ride your bike with me for 65-miles, please send me your story on the “Comments” link below this blog. Share the reason you want to ride and after we pick the team, we will help each other one mile at a time.

If you want to be a part of this amazing day but feel you don’t want to ride 65-miles, that’s okay, we have a few options for you. You can volunteer, you can ride our bike for a shorter distance… 50-miles or go the full distance of 100-miles . You can also run or walk 5K, that’s about 3.2 miles. This will all start and end in Downtown San Jose. You can find all the details on http://www.nbc11.com/community.

The city of San Jose will proclaim Tuesday, May 13th as Lance Armstrong day. To celebrate, NBC11 will give you half price on the registration fee. I will also deliver my forecast from outside our studio in San Jose on Tuesday, May 13th at 11:00AM . If you stop by the studios between 11:00AM and 2:00 PM and register for one of the events scheduled for the July 13th Live Strong Challenge, you will get half off the registration fee. If you can’t make it to the studios in San Jose on Tuesday, May 13th you can get the half priced registration fee online at http://www.livestrongchallenge.org

Enter promotion code LSDAY08, but this is only for Tuesday, May 13th, 2008.

This is going to be a physical and emotional challenge for me, and if you’d like to be a part of it, I’d love to see you out there, even if it is on the sidelines cheering on the walkers, runners and riders! LiveSTRONG.

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

One Response to “LiveSTRONG!”

  1. LIVESTRONG Blog | The Lance Armstrong Foundation Blog » Blog Archive » San Jose, CA Says:

    […] spreading the word about LIVESTRONG Day and the mission of the LAF with your viewers.  Check out Craig’s blog and join Craig Herrera’s Team Eleven.  Craig interviewed several of the amazing volunteers who […]

Leave a Reply

