Hit the Road!

by

Craig HerreraIt’s time to hit the road, on my bicycle… For about 545 miles! Many of you have heard me talking about the AIDS LifeCycle on the morning newscast and the time has come to ride! On Sunday, June 1st, I will gear up with my team – Herrera’s Hooligans to ride from San Francisco to LA. NBC11 is a proud sponsor of the event and I am honored to ride and raise money to help people living with HIV and AIDS. The Hooligans, Mitch, Julie, Craig, Paul, Jean and Gary, will join 2500 other cyclists in the ride this year. As a team we have raised over $17,000.00! All week long, I will keep a daily blog right here on the Breakfast Blog so I hope you get to check it everyday and share in this experience with me!

I did the ride last year and it was such an emotional and physical challenge for me, but I am so grateful I was able to be a part of it! Last year, I met a 78-year-old woman who was on her bike riding with us. I met people from all over the world in fact! I was challenged physically up Highway 92, up Skyline Blvd. and over to Santa Cruz, and that was just the first day! My favorite uncle died from cancer six months earlier so all that time on the bike allowed me to really think about him and miss him. It really was quite an experience for me. I can’t wait for the journey this year!

All week long I will meet people with so many stories and reasons for riding and I can’t wait to share it all with you!

Now, what to pack?
– 7 pairs of cycling shorts, check!
7 – cycling jerseys, check!
(I better take a few extra shorts and jerseys)
– Lots of socks, check!
– A sleeping bag, check!

Okay, I think I’m ready.

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

One Response to “Hit the Road!”

  1. Christy Says:

    Good luck! It’s for a good cause. I’m rooting for ya!

Leave a Reply

