Day One

by

Craig HerreraWe made it through day one! And it was only 82 miles. Yes, only 82! We thought it was going to be about 94 miles but it was a new route and thankfully shorter. It was quite a relief after a night of restless sleep. I guess I was thinking about the ride. The day began at 3:30, I got to sleep in. I usually set the alarm for 2:30 in the morning to get to work for the fun with the morning team, but this week I get to sleep in… 4:30AM. Whoo hoo!

The Hooligans were strong today! We lost Paul at the opening ceremonies but found him at the first rest stop. The scenery was amazing! How often do you get to ride you bike down Highway 1, along the coast with 2500 other cyclists. And oh, did I mention, the cyclists and volunteers (A.K.A. Roadies) raised over $11.6 million as a group to help people living with HIV/AIDS. A new record, AMAZING! Thank you to all of our supporters! It was nice to see Pastor Lee Neish and Alex Hardt from our church, Los Gatos United Methodist Church, today at the opening ceremonies. We had so much support from LGUMC, thank you!

That is yet another important part of this ride, the support we get from so many people. For example, seeing the streets lined with people today who were cheering us on with large posters and thanking us for riding. One mother had a poster with her son’s picture on it, he died from AIDS, and she was thanking us for riding. I get tears thinking of that image today. I saw other cyclists, the Positive Pedelers, who are HIV+ and riding right along with us. I was riding with people from all backgrounds and of all ages, from 18 to 82! It gave me hope, hope that one day we won’t be on this ride because this disease will be history. Until then we ride. So now, as I type this blog in my tent, to the unsynchronized “hum” of snoring cyclist all around me, I’ll get some zzzz’s in myself and prepare for day two. And oh did I mention it’s 106 miles Monday from here in Santa Cruz to King City. And it’s Paul’s birthday! What a gift huh? 🙂

Go Hooligans!

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

4 Responses to “Day One”

  1. Scott Says:

    Go Craig! We’re proud of you!

  2. Craig Says:

    Scott,

    Thanks so much Scott!

  3. Mo Abshire Says:

    Hi Craig:
    I was surprised and pleased to find the photo of you and I in Santa Cruz on your blog. It was great to meet you in person. I am a fan of yours and of the whole news team.
    I loved being a Roadie and I congratulate you on your success as a Rider. It was a great week.
    Mo

  4. Craig Says:

    Hi Mo!
    You are an incredible person! It was great to meet you! You were always so positive, happy and a joy to see at the end of a long ride!
    I hope to see you next year!

Leave a Reply

