Day Four: 99.8 Miles

by

Craig Herrera
Whoo hoo, day four down and I got back to camp early enough to get an early shower without having to wait in line for 30 minutes. I’m not joking when I say it has been taking 30 to 45 minutes to get to a shower. They have 5 big trucks here with showers, but imagine 3000 people trying to shower at night after they get in from the ride. But I’m clean and ready for dinner after a great day on the road. And remember my last blog, I thought we were going to go about 96 miles, yeah well they changed the route and we went 99.8 miles, almost another century! I have to say though, after yesterday’s bumpy ride along highway 101 for about 5 miles, my derriere felt every pepple along the 99 miles!

It was just beautiful though! Along the Pacific Coast Highway, the views from our bikes, WOW! And the weather was perfect! Well, up until we hit the town of Guadalupe where the CROSSWIND was blowing at 35 miles per hour, sustained. I was riding at a 45 degree angle to stay on my bike! It was a scary 10 miles but we made it.

And we made so many more friends along the way. Dan from Ireland, Ann from England, many from the Bay Area and some Funky Monkeys (their team name) from different parts of Southern California.
And we hit the “halfway to LA” point today before we cycled along Morro Bay.

I’m also getting a great tan. I’m lathering on the sunscreen mom, but I just keep getting darker. 🙂

Off to sleep now and I’m looking forward to tomorrow… Red dress day!

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

