Final Night

by

Craig HerreraI’ll keep this blog short as this is the last night in camp and I want to spend time with my Hooligans, my old friends and my new friends. This won’t be my last blog as I will sum up my experience once I get back to the Bay Area.

The sun was warm and the ocean air cool, what a day. We rode along the coast and are now on a beach in Ventura. The stops today were so much fun but my favorite was a non AIDS/Lifecycle stop in Santa Barbara. The town hosted an ice cream social in a park. Yes, I stuffed myself with ice cream, cookies, brownies and strawberries, just to be healthy right, a little bit of fruit to justify it, ahaha!

The City of Santa Barbara held the event just to support the riders and the event. Yet another show of support where people are just helping people, making new friends along the way and trying to make the world a better place.

For now I will just say that I am overwhelmed all the support, the love, and above all, the memorable experience!

Tonight more than 3000 people will quietly walk onto the beach here in Ventura for a candle light vigil. This was such an amazing feeling last year and I can’t wait to be a part of it again.
I know I will be overcome with emotion and it will be the perfect end to an incredible week. Tomorrow we ride out for the final day and final miles in this ride to end AIDS. We’ll pedal 61.5 miles from Ventura to Los Angeles.

I’ll sum it all up for you when I get back to the Bay Area. For now, thank you for following my blog and sharing this experience with me.

Craig Herrera
NBC11 WeatherPlus Meteorologist

2 Responses to “Final Night”

  1. Ray the FOOD roadie Says:

    Hi Craig! What a ride, huh?? I had a great time meeting you and being with all those 3K people on the ride. though NEXT year I may ride just to get more sleep! I came home with a nasty cold and have to miss MORE school this week! 😦

    Your food service pal,
    RayO

    PS as someone who has lived with the virus for 25 years now, thank you!

  2. Craig Says:

    Ray O! THANK YOU for all your hard work on ALC 7! You and the rest of the crew were simply amazing! I hope you participate in the ride again, either as a roadie or on your bicycle!
    Feel better my new friend and get back to school soon.
    I am so happy to hear you are doing well after 25 years with the virus. I will ride as long as we need to ride!
    Stay well and thank you for your courage, dedication and spirit!

Leave a Reply

