Too-MAY-to, Too-MAH-toe

by

Laura Garcia CannonWhen the first salmonella scare came out this past weekend about tainted tomatoes I must have been on a plane, in the air, returning from a week off on vacation. We knew the cupboards were bare at home, so we went out to lunch. Ordering a salad, I didn’t complain to the waitress, but the first thing I noticed was, where were my tomatoes?!? Perhaps they forgot. Then my sandwich came. No tomatoes! I still didn’t say anything, no big deal, but I did notice, the red ripe culinary treat I love were missing.

I love tomatoes. I could eat them like apples. Sliced, salted, lovely. One of my definite favorites. When the bountiful harvest of the jeweled treats arrive in farmers markets and grocery stores, I’m the first to fill my cart. I even take on the challenge of growing a different variety every year. My Dad always had a garden when I was growing up and I remember closely inspecting the tomato vines learning when they were ripe for picking.

So this year, when the salmonella scare eliminated some varieties except for cherry, grape, those with the vine attached, and homegrown tomatoes, I knew I was safe! I had my trusty vine in the backyard to check. Except… it was gone! I think Brent thought it was a weed! Out trimming a few weeks ago he yanked it. It reminded me of when we were first married he decided to go out and trim what he thought were hedges. They were gardenias that I had been fertilizing with zillions of buds ready to burst into the beautiful fragrant flowers reminding me of those I carried in my wedding bouquet. No more blooms, the plants were now cut into little round balls. When Brent called me into the yard to show me how proud he was of his ‘trimming’ I was at a loss for words. He was so excited, I was so sad. But it was hard to criticize the guy who was filled with the good intentions of just ‘tending to the garden.’ He was being a good new husband. We laugh about it now.

I haven’t mentioned to him that he pulled up my tomato plant yet, or the oregano or thyme. I’ll just head on over to the farmers market, and he can be proud of his ‘trimming.’

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC11 Anchor

4 Responses to “Too-MAY-to, Too-MAH-toe”

  1. Brent Cannon Says:

    To explain – I did destroy the gardenias when we were first married. I had no idea what they were. I just trimmed the ‘bushes’ into nice, decorative little balls. I had no idea I ruined the blooms. I felt really bad. I didn’t know it was so important to Laura. Honest mistake made in my young “groundskeeping” career.

    As for the recent tomato debacle – I had no idea I had pulled the plant up until just now. She usually has ’em in a pot – or they have tomatoes on ’em and are easy to spot. I was recently clearing out weeds etc from the garden and must have missed it. It must have been in early stages of developement.

    And the herbs – well – they had to go. They had grown out of control next to the air conditioner. Not only were they taking over the rest of the garden – but when I turned on the air – the fan was sucking them through the grates and was chopping them up. I didn’t want to damage the air conditioner – so – I yanked ’em out. I did that one on purpose. Just tryin’ the save the family money in the form of expensive repairs.

    I appreciate how Laura did not get mad at me – and that she recognized my good intentions. I am so lucky to have such a wife!

  2. Jeanette Says:

    Hi Brent, The good thing here is the “good intention”. Some husbands don’t know that we care about “good intentions”. It doesn’t matter if you don’t do “our” way. At least you tried.

    And yes, you are very lucky to have a wife as Laura!

  3. Lauren Says:

    Eating tomatoes like apples must be a Portervillle thing. No one else understands how I do it, but now I have proof that I’m not alone!

  4. John Says:

    Brent & Laura,
    There’s still time to plant a tomato or two this season,
    Get a “early girl” which have ripe fruit in 60 days, crush an egg shell or two and put it in the hole before you put in the plant to ensure a good source of calcium, to avoid rot. don’t over do it with the fertilizers, too much nitrogen and the plant will not produce, if you put in a “cherry” type plant it will produce on into December, will look like hell by then, but will still produce well. California’s great growing season can save us from lots of mistakes.

Leave a Reply

