S’mores Season

by

Brent CannonHow do you like your marshmallows? I like mine well done. Very, well done.

I recently went camping, and of course no camping trip is complete without roasting marshmallows. I have been roasting marshmallows since I was a kid, but this time out, I realized there are so many variables. How do you skewer your marshmallow? Some people like to use the two pronged skewers from the store. Other people use an old coat hanger. Others prefer a stick off a nearby tree.

How many marshmallows do you roast at a time? Some go with one at a time. Others go with two. I have even seen a triple roaster.

Selecting the perfect heat source is important. Some people like to use the campfire flame. Others pick a choice bed of red-hot coals. I like to find a “hole.” I look for the red-hot coals, usually in a gap in the burning logs of the fire. I like the store-bought skewer – and can go with a single or double marshmallow. I stick them into the “hole” and wait until it bursts into flame.

This brings up another point. How do you like your marshmallows cooked? Some people basically want them “warmed.” Others like a slow roasting – turning the skewer slowly until all sides are a golden brown.

As for me – I like my marshmallow like a roman candle. I like it on fire like a torch you could use to navigate a dark cavern in an Indian Jones movie. I’m not happy until the entire thing is on fire and the marshmallow begins to turn black. I know. I know. Carcinogens. But that’s how I like ‘em. Once engulfed in flame – I quickly blow it out. From there we enter a new phase. What to do with the marshmallow once the cooking phase is complete.

You can eat it as is. You can put it on a graham cracker. Or, you can go for the full-fledged “S’more.” That would most likely mean two roasted marshmallows, graham crackers and Hershey’s chocolate. Now, this is not a plug for Hershey’s chocolate. It just happens to be what one uses in a properly made “s’more.” You don’t get the bars with almonds or “crunchies.” You get a plain old Hershey’s chocolate bar. Ya break off about half, and put it on the hot marshmallow – and then put a “lid” on. That would be another graham cracker.

There are many things I still do not know – like where the names marshmallow and s’more came from. Although, I have heard that they call ‘em s’mores because if you have one, ya gotta have “s’more.” But what I do know is how I like my marshmallows roasted and that roasting marshmallows is a long hallowed camping tradition.

Brent Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

2 Responses to “S’mores Season”

  1. Jen W Says:

    I think your blog is SO RIGHT ON about the s’mores. We just took our kids 7 and 3 for their first camping trip and one of their favorite things was making s’mores. The other favorite was popping jiffy pop on the camping stove. Good times! We can’t wait to repeat!!
    BTW, one of my girls was a one marshmallow girl and the other two….

  2. More Air Time « The Breakfast Blog Says:

    […] Air Time So, Brent writes about S’mores and, while I don’t have a special family recipes or secrets for preparation, it did take me […]

Leave a Reply

