Badge or No Badge?

by

Laura Garcia Cannon:
Laura Garcia CannonIt’s funny the differences between the tastes of men and women. I bought a new jacket the other day and wasn’t too sure if it was going to work on air. I decided to model it for Brent. He immediately said… what’s your rank? The blazer has a big crest on it and I can tell that is the first thing he didn’t like about it. He said I looked like a police officer. I thought, well he might have a point. I carefully snipped the crest off, put the jacket back on and thought… BORING! It just looked like a plain off white jacket with black piping. So, I pinned the badge back on and wore it

Funny thing, when I got to work the staff had the same reaction. Scott McGrew said I was the commodore, Mike Inouye saluted me, my Executive Producer John Peck wanted to know where I got the badge? Ha ha.. But all the girls said, oh love the jacket, love the crest, leave it on! So, I wonder.. Are badges and crests a gender thing? Here’s a look at both looks…. Which do you prefer? We’re taking a poll… leave a comment.

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

40 Responses to “Badge or No Badge?”

  1. Kellie Says:

    This interactive blog is fun…. my vote is for Laura’s jacket without the badge! Although she looks cute both ways. NBC Bay Area should have more blogs like this.

  2. George Kiriyama Says:

    Badges are not my thing. Too distracting. I say do without. πŸ™‚

  3. Erika Says:

    It looks great either way so I say keep the badge if you like it! If I saw you on the street saluting you certainly wouldn’t be my first thought.

  4. Angelina Says:

    Laura, I like the jacket without the patch. I love the design of the jacket and the cut is great…I just think the patch is on the large size and is a little distracting. Don’t let the guys give you a hard time…you look great no matter what you wear!!! Keep up the good work.

  5. Scott Says:

    We already knew you outranked Brent; you don’t have to prove it.

  6. John Says:

    No badge is the best

  7. Tom Says:

    Laura, you make them both look good.

  8. Donna Says:

    Laura, keep the crest!!

  9. Craig Says:

    It’s the latest trend… ahh… er… what do I know, haha! I like it with the patch because it has the feel of fall, and getting back to school, and it reminds me fall films like “Rudy”, “Dead Poets Society” and “Mona Lisa Smile”. I like it, BUT it’s fine without it too. Is that a good answer? πŸ™‚

  10. Tammi Welch Says:

    I like the jacket better without it. It has a reat cut! Even with the badge though, its not bad.

  11. Bob Motherlode Says:

    We all know you are the rose amongst all the AM thorns. The badge denotes nobility. Keep the badge and go girl !!

  12. Kristi Says:

    Sorry Laura, I’m going to have to go with no badge.

  13. Mike Inouye Says:

    Hey, I saluted you but that was not because of the badge.

    For those of you who aren’t familiar with our newsroom routine…

    1. We log in at our computer.
    2. We check for breaking news.
    3. We stand at our desk, turn to face Laura and salute her with a melodic “Good moOOoorning, Commodore Garcia-Cannon!”
    4. We go and get coffee.

    I like the badge. Maybe I’ll wear an ascot sometime.

  14. Sandra Says:

    The badge makes it look alot more interesting; without it looks too blah.

  15. Irma Says:

    The jacket looks great – men are strange – You make the jacket look really cute. In fact, where did you get it? I think I will get one. In fact, we should all get one and then model for the crew at Channel 11 Heee

  16. Brent Says:

    I’m just impressed with how she can re-create the same smile and pose.

  17. Michelle Says:

    As a girl scout, I would have to say you have to earn your badge. If it’s a breaking news badge or an anchor with the best shoes badge, then you earned it!

  18. Doug Says:

    It’s definitely a gender thing since guys only care about function (does it keep me warm?) and price (does it mean I’ll have to give up my “NFL Sunday Ticket” package on cable?). Not to “out” Brent, or anything, but rumor has it he used to wear shorts and a sport coat back in his sportscasting days, so I’m not surprised that he’s thrown for a loop by the “badge or no badge” thing.

    It’s a moot point, anyway. Royalty should be wearing crowns, not badges!

  19. Dina Says:

    I like the badge; I think it says, “Laura is officially approved by Ralph Lauren to give you the news.” That’s credible, isn’t it?

  20. Carol Schweigert Says:

    I vote, no badge, dear. However, I am impressed that you got it off and did not cut the material or leave pin holes and even more that you could sew it back on and it is not upside down or uneven or all those horrible sewing errors.

  21. Michelle Lim Says:

    I vote for, badge. Laura looks good on any jacket. You never know.. someday she’ll be interviewing Ralph Lauren. She can be thier spokesmodel and free clothes! Wear that badge with pride, Laura!

  22. Andrea Says:

    I like the jacket WITHOUT the crest.

  23. Marina Says:

    I love the jacket without the badge. I say add a pin or scarf. I agree with Carol Schweigert, I alway end up with a min. of one hole when trying to cut tags.

  24. Amanda D. Says:

    Laura, I like it better WITH the Crest. Very classy. You are always very classy in dress, speech and actions. Watching you in the morning is a breath of fresh air. You and Brent make a great couple. Okay, back to the Crest, yes keep it. You’re darling either way!!!

  25. Mark Says:

    You could always double as a station tour guide. πŸ™‚

  26. Wyndi Says:

    I absolutely love watching you in the morning Laura, and how you so genuinely put yourself out there with these blogs. I think the jacket looks great either way, the crest adds a little something. You are by far the best dressed Bay Area anchor anyway so you could put on a sack and make it stylish! Keep up the great work – love how you handle yourself with those guys in the morning!

  27. Mark Says:

    Laura, what my wife left out is who cares what your wearing .. with those gorgeous eyes we don’t care! She teases me every day how I love to watch. You and Brent make the best team keep it up!!

  28. Stacy Says:

    I have to laugh – wasn’t this a Seinfeld episode?

    If you bought it, you must like it – so I vote to wear it.

    I also don’t think your husband should get to vote. For crying out loud, he’s wearing shorts with a jacket and tie! It’s like the clothing version of a mullet (business in the front, party in the back) except his is business above the desk…. πŸ˜‰

  29. michael Says:

    matt would like the badge so i think your should keep it!! …..haha πŸ˜€

  30. Cinny Says:

    I agree with Amanda and Mark…..you are darling in anything….especially with those great eyes. You go girl.

  31. Cory Marshall Says:

    Laura, I have to say I vote yes on the infamous jacket, despite its controversy. Personally, as I’m sure you’ve spotted at the station, I’m a huge proponent of preppy attire.

  32. Shannon Says:

    OMGosh, so funny, because I have a Ralph Lauren one with a badge too! It even has a few stars on it–I think it was supposed to look like a Navy uniform, but cuter. I used to wear it in Seattle when I got it, about 10 years ago, and someone wrote in asking what my rank was, etc.! They thought I really WAS in the Navy! So I never wore it again…I’ve had it all this time b/c it’s so cute, but I never pulled it out while in San Francisco either, so you never got to see that one. But as usual, we have similar taste! I say, you’re not bashful, so go badgeful!

    Miss you, Shannie

  33. Danielle Says:

    Love the badge Laura. The guys should salute you anyways..LOL

  34. Felicia Says:

    Laura, I don’t care what the naysayers think, I LOVE the badge on your jacket. It’s got a really distinctive touch. You’re so STYLIN’ girl!

    ~Felicia πŸ™‚

  35. june Says:

    i love it without the badge!

  36. Gail Says:

    Aren’t we supposed to care more about what you’re SAYING than what you’re WEARING?

    Given that, if your clothes prove to be a distraction to your anchoring, don’t wear distracting clothes. I do confess I would tend to be trying to figure out what was in your emblem/badge/whatever-you-call-it while you’re talking to the point where I might pay less attention to what you’re saying.

  37. Lance Says:

    Laura… Let me see if I understand… You pay money to wear someone elses crest…? If your going to wear a badge/crest on the air it should only be a NBC logo; after all they pay you to wear thier badge/crest/logo….

  38. Mindy Says:

    You know I love you and I love your outfits (why.. we have a couple of the same things!!!) But I like it without the crest… sorry! I love this site!!! I will check in often!!

    Miss you guys lots and lots!!

    Mindy

  39. Karen Shaheen Says:

    Laura when is yr Birthday and also Brent’s.?
    Thank y,
    Karen

  40. Richard Says:

    Laura,
    I love the jacket and the badge/crest/coat-of-arms, it’s definately you. You’ve always had great style.
    -Richard πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

