A Charged Issue

by

Brent Cannon:
Brent CannonScott’s gadget last Friday was some sort of plate that you can just toss your cell phone onto – and it gets charged. That way, people don’t have to go to the trouble of hooking up the charging device that comes with the cell phone. You just toss and walk.

Scott says he is notorious for forgetting to charge his cell phone and running out of power. This gadget is perfect for him. I, on the other hand am totally the opposite. I am charging obsessed. I can’t stop charging. I continually charge my iPod, cell phone, batteries for the digital camera, my electric shaver. I charge ‘em all – all the time. I even charge the little battery run motor that blows up our air mattress. I charge the battery for the electric motor that goes with my canoe. (OK- before you ask why the heck I have a motor for a canoe – let me explain. If you paddle out on a mountain lake and the wind comes up you can’t paddle back. You need help. Thus the electric motor).

Anyway, you get the idea. I can’t stand to have a dead battery. Sometimes, I charge too much. You are supposed to let things go dead. That way you get a full charge and most batteries will last longer with a full charge than if you continually do a partial charge.

I have a battery-operated screwdriver. I had a project, grabbed it, and went to work and it died. See, I needed to have that on a charger.

I have no idea where this story is going. Maybe I need to recharge my brain. I better go take a nap.

Brent Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

Leave a Reply

