Walk ‘N Wag

by

Craig Herrera:
Craig HerreraWhat a fun day… a Saturday morning walking and wagging with your pet! Well, I walked while my dogs wagged. 🙂

I recently took my two dogs, Sasha (a 10-year-old Lhasa Apso) and Kaia (a 5-month-old Rhodesian Ridgeback mix) on a walk through History San Jose and Kelley Park with about 100 other dogs and their humans. We met some great new friends and saw many old friends at the event called Walk ‘N Wag. My mom and aunt were with us and we had a great time too. And we had just enough of a break in the rain for a dry walk!

It was my third year leading the walk and this year more than $166,000.00 was raised to help support the programs run by the Humane Society Silicon Valley. They are building a brand new “green” state-of-the-art facility in Milpitas too. The 48,000 square foot building will house so many incredible features like a doggie daycare, a pet-friendly cafe, a grooming center and home-like habitats for dogs, cats and rabbits waiting to go to loving homes. I have to say it’s always such a pleasure to see the staff and volunteers of the HSSV! All pet and animal lovers just have an instant bond, and no matter how much time ha gone by or if you just met, there is an instant connection when it comes to animals… that’s how I feel about the staff and volunteers at HSSV.

It was so fun to see all the pets with their humans. Some of them dressed alike, many taking pictures and all having a great time. All the photos you see here were taken by a great person I met at the Walk N Wag, Felicia Gray. Thanks Felicia for the great pictures.

If you missed it this year, maybe I’ll see you out there next year. And soon I’ll be at Howling Halloween in Los Gatos for an event which raises money for the Los Gatos/Monte Sereno Police Department K9 unit. I’ll blog about that event soon, before and after it happens Friday, October 24th. If you want more information now on that event, visit http://www.nbc11.com/community/1490247/detail.html

Craig Herrera
NBC Bay Area WeatherPlus Meteorologist

5 Responses to “Walk ‘N Wag”

  1. Angela Rowe Says:

    My name is Angela Rowe I am 10 yrs old this is a very intresting blog because I adore puppies and dogs. If you love puppys and dogs as I do please visit my website http://www.gothamcanine.com thank you

  2. David Says:

    I’ve also seen alot of great work from Felicia Gray on gothamcanine.com

  3. lynda Gray Says:

    Congrat’s to Sasha and Kaia for “taking the lead”–with you along ofcourse, in a very successful fund raiser for the Humane Society. $166,000 is certaintly something to “bark” about. It was good to see the pictures taken by Felicia. Her website (gothamcaine.com) also has some interesting and helpful “caine” information.

  4. Craig Says:

    Thank you for the great message! It was a wonderful event and so great to see so many coming together for an incredible cause! Felicia is great and I do love her web site! I look forward to more events with HSSV and Felicia of gothamcanine.com!
    I hope you had a great week and thank you so much for your support!

  5. Craig Says:

    Angela, David and Lynda,
    Thanks so much! I really appreciate your comments and love that you love pets and animals and the work of Felicia Gray.

Leave a Reply

