Make-Up Mix-Up

by

Brent Cannon:
Brent CannonBeing in this TV news business leads to unusual circumstances from time to time. The other day Scott McGrew and I had a conversation that just doesn’t happen in too many other office settings.

Scott took his make-up home for some reason. Okay, see, it’s already getting weird. Anyway, he didn’t have any make-up when he got to work, so he asked if he could use some of mine. Asking to use another man’s Este Lauder to powder your nose simply does not take place elsewhere. I’ve been in this business for so long, I think nothing of it. Sometimes I am around other manly men who do other jobs, like coaching football or head bouncer (i.e. Dean of Students) at a high school or maybe a police officer, and I just blurt out things that happen in my day, then realize my mistake when they look at me like I am half nuts.

Anyway, I gave Scott some of my ‘back-up” make-up. I keep a set for just such occasions. I gave him an oil free matte-finish foundation that a consultant had given me; a packet of application sponges and the powder I mentioned above. I really was not sure of his skin tones – so I gave him a summer foundation – as well as a winter look. I am not sure which he chose, but he looked great on air that day.

Afterwards, he asked if I wanted to go to the big shoe and tie sale at the mall – maybe have a light salad and low cal iced tea. Although it sounded tempting, I told him I had to go pump iron at the gym – maybe next time. I actually think he had to go “saw” something in the garage.

Brent Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

One Response to “Make-Up Mix-Up”

  1. Brock Keeling Says:

    oh my.

Leave a Reply

