TJ Ties

by

Brent Cannon:
Brent CannonWe here at NBC Bay Area have many ties to CNN anchor TJ Holmes. No really – many ties – as in, a whole box full of ‘em. You see, TJ was once an anchor here – but later moved to the big national spotlight at CNN. He has not forgotten those of us he once called colleagues.

A little trivia about TJ. First, you can find all sorts of photos of him on the web. No doubt, he is a good lookin’, well dressed man. But you may not know that TJ never wears the same tie twice on TV. Once on air, that tie goes into re-Tire-ment. He also never wears a tie that costs more than ten bucks. He has a knack for finding great looking ties for ten bucks or less – wears ‘em once – and gets another.

When TJ left NBC Bay Area he had a massive tie giveaway. Many of those ties ended up in my closet, and you have likely seen them many, many times during our newscasts (‘cuz I wear ‘em over and over).

TJ recently visited the Bay Area and swung by the studio to say hello to old friends. I mentioned that I needed a new shipment of ties. Well, the old ship came in last night. On my desk this morning, a whole batch of new ties from TJ!

Of course, I shared my good fortune with others – i.e. Mike, Craig and Scott – as you can see in the picture. I also “pass it on,” meaning I take the old ties from the first batch and pass those on to other people. I give them to friends, or to people I know who are tight on cash these days due to the economic times and I give some to Goodwill as well.

So, the TJ tie legacy lives on and on. In the meantime, I’ll be watching TJ to preview some of the ties I hope to see in the next shipment!

Thanks TJ.

Brent Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

One Response to “TJ Ties”

  1. june Says:

    how cool and generous of tj!

Leave a Reply

