The Fido Friendly Network

by

Craig Herrera:
Craig HerreraPets give so much unconditional love to humans, and one more reason I love those furry little animals is because it’s a great way to meet new friends!

I’ve recently noticed that if I have one or two of my dogs with me while on a walk, strangers usually say hello to one of the dogs, then to me, the human, and I’m okay with that as long as they say hello to the human too!

I’ve found that having dogs is a great way to meet new friends because it gives strangers a reason to say hello, and I love it.

It’s how I met my dear friends Mitch and Julie over three years ago. They became road bicycle buddies, and we are like family now. It’s how I met Milton and Teresa while at a Humane Society Silicon Valley (HSSV) event called, fittingly, “Walk N Wag.” Through them I met Terri from Society Dog who got me involved with Howling Halloween in Los Gatos and Society Dog. It’s how I met Robert and Chris from the HSSV and got involved with the fun Fur Ball and Walk N Wag events. And while at the recent Walk N Wag in San Jose I met my new friend Felicia Gray.

craigdog1108Felicia recently relocated to the Bay Area from New York with her family and she also loves pets!

She also has a great web site designed for pet lovers: http://www.gothamcanine.com

I was honored when she asked if she could write a blog on my family and dogs for the web site. We had so much fun and she actually turned the blog into the feature on the home page. Check it out and let me know what you think.

I call it the Fido Friendly Network, meeting new friends and simply saying hello to strangers while out on a walk with my pets. And I hope when you are out walking your pets, or pass someone with their dogs, that you too have the opportunity to say hello and make a new friend, maybe help brighten your day. Have a great day!

Craig Herrera
NBC Bay Area Meteorologist

Leave a Reply

