New Year’s Cravings

by

Laura Garcia Cannon:
Laura Garcia CannonYou know that New Year’s is here, not just because all the sales on half price 2009 calendars at the mall kiosk, but all the ads on how to lose weight. Beat the diet monster, have you called Jenny yet? I heard there’s a new Atkins diet that now lets you eat carbs! Wasn’t the lack of eating carbs that made this diet famous and successful for some? Meat, bacon, lamb shanks oh my! Add a piece of bread? It’s just not Atkins anymore! So the “no carb” is now “some carb,” and when I looked up the “low fat” – I also found the “full fat” diet! No kidding, whole milk, cheese.. Mmm can I dish up a nice bowl of ice cream on that one? Is there a hot fudge diet? Maybe I should patent that one now. I do remember seeing a book at the checkout line on the peanut butter diet, I bet Homer Simpson has the “Du-ohnut diet.” Just follow it up with the detox diet and we’ll call it good. Three day diet, Zone diet, Mediterranean diet, South Beach diet, Grapefruit diet, cabbage soup diet, Hollywood diet oh my. I don’t even want to go on a diet but it’s amazing how many there are out there, makes me hungry for some reason.

Laura Garcia Cannon
NBC Bay Area Anchor

Leave a Reply

